Piece by Piece…

Patchwork cards, like patchwork quilts, have so many different patterns and gorgeous colors in them. You can get lost in the creations.

14630076-Colorful-quilting-pattern-Stock-Photo-quilt-patchwork-quilting

Where to start…where to start….where to start?!?!?!

That is how I first felt when putting this card together. Where do you start putting your strips of paper down? Well, my suggestion is to jump right in and it will come together for you!

Forever Friend

I have seen many patchwork cards on Pinterest and I thought they were SO BEAUTIFUL. And one look at this card, I hope you will agree!

I started with a Crumb Cake card base that measured 4 ¼ x 11 inches long, scored at 5 /5 inches. The next layer is Bermuda Bay paper that I have cut at 4 x 5 inches, the Whisper White layer that the strips of paper are adhered to measures 3 ½ x 4 ½ inches. The last piece of paper that “Forever Friends” is stamped on (in Melon Mambo ink) is 1 by 3 ½ x 1 inch wide.

Crumb Cake

 

Bermuda BayWhisper White

I chose the “Have a Cuppa” Designer Series Paper Stack — #140567 (which is on the retired list–hurry things are going fast!). This is a 6 x 6 inch pack of GORGEOUS papers. I chose patterns that I loved and started cutting. Each strip is ½” wide x 6 inches long and you start laying them down. I left just a smidge bit of space between each strip of paper.

I used my silicone mat while putting the adhesive on since I did not want EVERYTHING sticking to my work surface.  LOVE this mat and us it ALL. THE. TIME.

Silicone Sheet

Once I laid down all of the strips of paper onto my Whisper White layer, I then trimmed all of the pieces of strips that were hanging over my edges.

Forever Friend Closup
Nice, clean, crisp!
Stamp 'n Sass Images

Hope you enjoyed this card. It was one that we made at my last card buffet.

My next card buffet is scheduled for Saturday, May 21 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. at UW Oshkosh in Sage Hall, Room 3206. You can choose six cards to make for $15. 

Let me know if you have specific cards that you are in need of (i.e. birthday, wedding, anniversary, sympathy).

RSVP by Thursday, May 19 so I am sure to have enough materials cut and ready for you to create!

Hope to see you on May 21! Thanks for stopping by!

Stamp'nSass Watermark     CindyLou

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Piece by Piece…

    1. Dang! I think I am just going to have to make a road trip sometime and do a private card-making event with you and Leah! YOU are a busy woman! I figured the next weekend that you and Scott would be camping….so that is why I opted for May 21! So sad….. :o(

      Like

      1. Call this weekend, graduation next weekend, Gen’s daughter’s birthday camp-out the weekend of the buffet. Crazy, but good!

        Like

Leave a Reply

